So here's the deal. If you weren't already aware my name is Sarah. I'm a fairly hum-drum college student who spends a great deal of time studying, pretending to study, traveling around and spending time with my amazing and wonderful friends and family. In addition to this in 9 short days I am about to embark on a serious adventure into the European continent; mainly, La France.
I'm incredibly excited about this, obviously. I mean who wouldn't love to just pack up and live in France for 4 months to study, travel, eat delicious food, and meet some very cool French people? Yeah, I don't know either. However, I'm also slightly nervous because, I mean, foreign country and what if my French really isn't up to snuff. I mean, I think it is, but that's just me. But besides from this worry I'm mainly just incredibly happy to be going for 4 months into a completely different culture and just travel until my legs will literally not work anymore. Hopefully I'll come back with some pretty great stories too, which I will attempt to post on here. I sincerely hope they're good stories and entertain any of you who actually decide to read this on a fairly regular basis :)
Anyway, as of now I have 9 days until I leave for la belle France and am attempting to get a start on packing, which is incredibly difficult for several different reasons.
A) I hate packing, I'd rather do about 20 other things than even start to put things inside a suitcase
B) I procrastinate. I started to make a list of things to pack and then got intimidated and stopped. I then showed this list to my dad and he told me it was absolutely necessary for me to pack a head-light. (you know, those lights that you wear on your head when you camp). I didn't really get this, since I couldn't think of a time when I'd be climbing into dark caves or camping in France, but I'll probably bring it anyway.
C) I brought my suitcase upstairs only to discover it is ripped and has mold growing on it.
Needless to say none of these things are making my packing experience easy. On top of this I have the sincere belief that the French government is not going to let me in the country due to the fact that I look like I'm about to bomb a building in my student visa photo. Now, I have heard that this is pretty normal and that no one looks good in their visa, but I haven't seen anyone elses, so I'm not really buying it.
But enough negativity. I am enjoying the time I've been spending with my family and friends for the last month an a half I've been home. It's been really nice to just relax and see everyone. Also I'm liking making somewhat solid travel plans for my time abroad (my list looks like a 5 year-old made it right now, but no biggie). If you have any suggestions please send them my way. I haven't started my European list and right now only have ideas for in France where the majority of my travel will probably be.
I guess that's all for now?