Thursday, March 10, 2011

It's been awhile...

Sorry about that all my dear and wonderful readers. The last two weeks in France have been INCREDIBLY busy so I haven't had time to update you all on the inner-workings of my life in France.
I'm SURE you're all feeling very neglected, and I hope this entry will make up for my former lack of blogging.
And off we go!

First off I've come to the realization that the French don't check their parks before they close them, which means if you are in a park 10 minutes before it closes no one will come around and tell you to get out; they'll just lock all the doors and leave you in there. This can be especially problematic if the park you're in is surrounded by 12 foot tall fences that have sharp pokes on top...however the problem usually can be solved by finding a flat top wall, and climbing on top of trash-bins to hoist yourself over the wall and out of the park. ;)

On another note, I don't like Paris.
Or, at least I really don't like the touristy aspect of Paris. It makes me want to throw myself off of the Eiffel Tower. There's just too many people taking pictures; it's like Mount Rushmore, it literally looks like the postcard. I mean, not to demean a national landmark or anything, I'm just not a fan,I'm probably one of the only people who doesn't like that kind of stuff. Also there are just too many people hassling you to buy things or sign things, or a million other things that it's hard to just sit back an really enjoy anything.

However, I will say that I really enjoy just walking around side-streets in Paris and not being near any big national landmarks. I could probably be entertained easily by just riding the metro for a whole day. I really like people watching in Paris, and France in general. Also pizza here is awesome. I've had it like 3 times in the last couple weeks. It's really cheap to split between two people, and also delicious; two things which make my life fantastic.

Other important things? My brother was in France over the weekend (just for Saturday) which was really fun, we wandered Paris for a day and walked from the Latin Quarter to l'Arc du Triomphe, which was fun, but a LONG walk and also a bit chilly. He left on Sunday morning and then my roommate from college and her mom arrived in France. They've been in Angers all week, which has sort of been the highlight of my life right now. We all went to Ash Wednesday mass at the Cathedral in Angers, which was incredibly gorgeous and a tiny bit confusing, because it was (obviously) all in French, and I still don't know church vocab. I decided to give up American television for Lent, and also partially speaking English in general; at least as much I can (I'm still writing this blog in English, and obviously will still speak English to all my friend in 'merica). I feel like Lent is a good enough excuse as any to really dive into the french language even more than I have been already so I'm really looking forward to seeing if this actually works.

Can you believe it everyone? I've been here over a month and it doesn't even feel like it. I've started taking tests and moving faster in my classes and every week literally feels like it takes a minute and a half to be over.
I need time to slowww down. Hopefully that will come a little bit this weekend and the next coming weeks.

Gros bisous mes amis!

No comments:

Post a Comment